16 August 2011

Book review Lone Star Trail by Darlene Franklin

                          Lone Star Trail    
                               by Darlene Franklin
                               Topic (Fiction - General)
                               List Price: $14.99

The six-book series about four generations of the Morgan family living, fighting, and thriving amidst a turbulent Texas history spanning from 1845 to 1896 begins with Lone Star Trail.
Judson (Jud) Morgan's father died for Texas' freedom during the war for independence.  So when the Society for the Protection of German Immigrants in Texas (the Verein) attempts to colonize a New Germany in his country, he takes a stand against them.

After Wande Fleischers' fiancee marries someone else, the young fraulein determines to make new life for herself in Texas.  With the help of Jud's sister Marion, Wande learns English and becomes a trusted friend to the entire Morgan family.

As much as Jud dislikes the German invasion, he can't help admiring Wande.  She is sweet and cheerful as she serves the Lord and all those around her.  Can the rancher put aside his prejudice to forge a new future? Through Jud and Wande, we learn the powerful lessons of forgiveness and reconciliation among a diverse community of believers.

My Review:
Another great book. This looks like a really good series and I cant wait to read more of this series. In this book we learn about how immigrants from Germany came to settle in Texas. I didn't know about this part of history and its one thing I love about historical fiction. Right from the start I could see Wande was a strong character who I came to love. She has to deal with learning her fiance has married someone else and the way she copes this is endears her to the reader. We also meet Jud who has a massive chip on his shoulder when it comes to German settlers. He is not happy when his family help Wande's family. We also meet Marion who is Jud's sister who helps Wande learn english and Alvie who is Wande's little sister. This book has lessons in forgiveness, tolerance and also in accepting differences and dealing with preconceived ideas. I can't wait to read the remaining 5 books in this series and see what happens with the Morgan family and leaning more of Texas's history. 

Thanks to Moody Publishers for my review copy.

1 comment:

Darlene Franklin said...

Thanks for the lovely review, Jenny! I love learning more about history as I write. Kind of like the teacher always learns more than the pupil . . .

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...